Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
The Cahall Law Firm PLLC Cahall Law Firm
  • Free Confidential Consultation

Florida Police Urging Drivers To Keep Their Eyes On The Road


With smartphones gaining in popularity in recent years, many drivers now use them while behind the wheel. They may text or email friends. They may make phone calls. They may also surf the internet while driving.

Distracted driving has become more common in recent years. Every year, thousands of people are killed by drivers who aren’t paying attention on the road. And it doesn’t take a lot to cause a serious accident. If you look down at your phone for several seconds, while traveling at 45 miles per hour, you’ve traveled almost the length of a football field. During that time, someone could have darted out in front of you, or a vehicle up ahead could have slowed down.

To combat this issue, the Panama City Police Department is urging drivers to pay attention while driving. Drivers should keep their hands on the wheel at all times. Their hands should not be on their phones.

The police department is especially urging young drivers to stay off their phones while driving. They do not need to be texting. If the text is urgent, they should wait to pull over and then send it.

Drivers should avoid texting and driving not only because it’s the safe thing to do, but it is also the law. Since 2013, it has been illegal to text while driving in Florida. However, at that time, it was a secondary offense, which means drivers could get a citation only if they were pulled over for another reason, such as speeding.

That changed in 2019, when state law made it a primary offense to text while driving. There no longer needs to be another reason to pull over the driver.

Now, officers can pull drivers over who are texting and driving. For a first offense, a person can face a $30 fine. For a second offense, that doubles to $60 and adds three points to your driver’s license.

Florida law also makes it illegal for drivers to hold phones in their hands or up to their ears. They cannot type while driving nor can they even hold the phone to see the GPS. A police officer can issue you a citation for holding your phone while driving.

Contact a Bradenton Personal Injury Lawyer Today 

While many drivers think that drunk driving is the worst thing you can do behind the wheel, driving while distracted can be just as bad. When on the road, you should always stay alert, with your eyes on the road.

Distracted driving has become a serious issue in recent years. Have you or a loved one been injured or killed in a crash caused by a distracted driver? If so, seek legal help from the Bradenton distracted driving accident attorney at The Cahall Law Firm. We’ll assess your case and help you understand your rights to compensation. Schedule a free consultation today by calling (941) 281-2019 or filling out the online form.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation